Bicycles & College Radio in Cleveland

Riding the trails and filling the air waves.

Goals, what are they good for?

ImageAs the month of October arrived, I found my bicycle riding mileage approaching 2000, just as the day light free-falls away in earnest. When the year started, I stated a New Year’s Resolution of riding 3000 miles this year.  That would be more than I had ever done in a year, by a wide margin.

It is clear to me now, that there is no way that I will be able to reach that goal.  Likely I will fall somewhere in the neighborhood of the past couple years, right in that 2200-2300 range,  My best year ever tally was a tad over 2600.

Should I be disappointed?

Should I look at it as a string pulling me forward and keeping me focused?

How do you use New Year’s Resolutions, or do you not even bother?  Christmas stuff is hitting the shelves already so maybe it is time to start planning for 2014.

4 responses to “Goals, what are they good for?

  1. duebyfriday October 2, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    wow looks like you got some nice trails by you and you can cover some distance! Glad I found your blog. I’m an amateur biker looking to get more into it someday. What’s the furthest trip you’ve done? Have you ever considered biking across the country?

    • sonatageek October 3, 2013 at 5:43 am

      I did part of the Great Allegheny Passage (GAP) and the C & O Canal with some neighbors a few years ago. The GAP runs from Pittsburgh PA all the way to Cumberland MA where it connects to the C & O which runs all the way into Washington DC.

      Longest ride this year was 60 miles and longest week was 133 miles. I found that when I started to keep track of my miles I tended to ride more. Tracking really motivated me to get shorter rides in during the late Fall, Winter and early Spring when conditions permitted, which helps with having a better number come the end of the year.

      • duebyfriday October 3, 2013 at 8:30 am

        just googled the Great Allegheny Passage, looks amazing. When I was in Missouri, there was a similar trail called the Katy Trail that went from St. Louis to Kansas City, I never made the full trip though. I used to have a mile tracker.. I’ll have to go looking for that, good tip

  2. Michael October 11, 2013 at 6:58 am

    I’ve adapted resolutions in the following way: instead of making them New Year’s eve (or day), I make mine on my birthday, effectively creating a personal, fiscal year. I find that I’ve been more apt to focus on my goals for the FY, because the reminder isn’t a big drunken party in the middle of Winter, but the commemoration of another year of my life (and what I have done with it for the past 12 months.)

    This might be something for you to try, since you have just such a commemoration coming up soon.

Leave a Reply

